New garden – sloping and bumpy ground

HomeForumsNo dig gardeningPreparing the groundNew garden – sloping and bumpy ground

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  charles 6 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Rose
    Participant

Hello,
    I’m a complete novice so would appreciate any advice.
    Our New house has a sloping garden which has been neglected for many years.
    It has an incline and is convered in what I think is couch grass and a few other weeds.
    I’d like to make a few no dig beds but having read charles’ book on how to create a new veg garden I still have some questions….

Due to the large lumps created from grass which has pushed up I’m unsure if I can just lay cardboard and manure over the top as the cardboard wouldn’t lay flush on the ground.
    Should I dig out the clumps of grass? should I put manure down first to help level off? (The garden is accessed up some steps so getting lots of manure up there will take time). Should I lay some plastic down first to try and kill the grass to give a flatter starting point?

Another question is about the slope in the ground, is this ok or should I create raised beds that are deeper at one end and therefore level?

Sorry for all the questions, like I said I’m new to this and I want to get it right. Time is short with a young family and it’s a bit daunting starting from scratch with such a big space!

I’ve attached some photos which hopefully will help.

Any advice would be gratefully received!

Rose

Rose
    Participant

Hopefully these pictures will work

Rose
    Participant

Sorry

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

charles

It looks good and I would use a rotary lawn mower over the area with a final pass on the lowest setting to make it level.
    Run beds up and down the slope and no need to level anything.
    Maybe start small too

seaves
    Participant